+41 votes
by (630 points)
I noticed that Google Ads is much much expensive in terms of Cost Per Click than Facebook Ads. I have $0. 09 CPC on Facebook campaign, while in Google Search CPC is $2. 55. my budget split between FB and Google is 70/30 accordingly. I guess I should dedicate 100% of budget to Facebook? What is your experience? Do you find Google expensive too?  
I noticed that Google Ads is much much expensive in terms of Cost Per Click than Facebook Ads.

23 Answers

+29 votes
by (470 points)
More expensive and more qualified. AdWords is a different kind of traffic. Focus on cost per conversion, not click.  
by (470 points)
@limnetic id probably stop selling then. This game doesn’t work very well if you can’t track conversions
by (610 points)
You know what they say. what you cant track you cant manage
by (140 points)
@guernica445 try to use diff landing page on 3rd party site so that u can test it
+31 votes
by (850 points)
You should measure ROAS not CPC. How much are you making from Google ads compared to spend? How about Facebook?  
by (9.9k points)
@beguine but you always want to know what your MCPC is otherwise you could be losing money on ROAS and not understand why. So CPC is important in my opinion but your right overall ROAS is the more important metric to be measuring
by (850 points)
@limnetic that will be a major issues. Let’s see if it is solvable. What kind of platform? Affiliate?  
by (610 points)
@limnetic you have your own brand you sell through homedepot?  
+7 votes
by (400 points)
Google is bottom of the funnel, the leads have buying intent
by (400 points)
@seventh12 unless the keyword targeting is sloppy
+2 votes
by (2.7k points)
Intent is a big difference . clicks are a soft metric. the metric that really matter is conversions
by (990 points)
@limnetic ask to have your pixel placed on the thank you page. It’s very common in affiliate marketing, or use a 3rd party tracking platform with a ping back URL or something of the likes.  
+31 votes
by (1.2k points)
It makes sense without context. You have to account for the fact that google is driving intent traffic.  
by (1.2k points)
@limnetic curiosity.  
by (120 points)
@limnetic Nope. Bounce rates from Facebook are notoriously high vs Google.  
by (540 points)
@limnetic Nope. I just click to see what's being sold. If I clicked via AdWords, that's very high intent to buy.  
+11 votes
by (2.5k points)
That's like saying CPC for audiences in Bangladesh is cheaper than CPC for audiences in Switzerland so you should put all your budget on Bangladesh.  
+23 votes
by (510 points)
Solutions: as stated above google search traffic has a strong intention. Facebook traffic are just wanderers. Whatever platform you are on, temporarily make a copy of your store, copy of your landing page, website or whatever is easy. Put a separate phone number, separate lead form or whatever so when the leads or sales come, you know it was from google. PS, are you even sure fb gets you sales?  
by (510 points)
@limnetic it could be to buy or just to look. Set up a separate account to sell on Home Depot. One for Adwords, one for facebook.  
by (510 points)
If allowed by Home Depot.  
+8 votes
by (1.1k points)
Use both if you want to use remarketing campaigns. very effective
+1 vote
by (9.9k points)
With google they are intent based ^^ people are aware they have a problem and go to google to try and find solutions to the problem. If your there when they search and your copy speaks to them and you get a click. That person is red hot and ready to give you their credit card and make a purchase because they realize they are in pain. Unlike Facebook who go on to see funny cute videos and see friends posts and don’t go on Facebook saying hey I’m gonna buy a new pair of shoes. They go to google if that’s the case not Facebook. So when you look at it on a more even level playing field if your cpc on Facebook is $0. 09 and your CPC on google is $2. 55, if it takes over 30 people on your Facebook campaigns to become 1 qualified lead, compared to google which is much higher quality, then now your looking at google actually being cheaper overall for quality leads. You can’t just go for cheap. Go for results. Don’t go for cheap. Go for results. Don’t go for cheap. Go for results
by (1k points)
@castellanos as in go gogog
by (230 points)
I agreed :)
by (240 points)
Google search traffic is highest quality. FB traffic is not always easy to convert. it depends on how you find and target perfect audience for your offer
by (150 points)
@limnetic just because people saw an ad and were curious enough to click on it doesn't mean they will buy it. I've clicked on so many Google ads and never bought anything, because I don't need it. Even if the audience fits your criteria doesn't mean they are looking for what you're selling.  
+28 votes
by (480 points)
What about the quality of leads? I found google ads leads more qualified than Facebook. I agree Facebook is lower cpc but it requires more time in terms of operations to qualify leads.  
by (340 points)
@rook9519 forms with conditional logic can help qualify leads prior to speaking with them. This has saved us an immense amount of time spent per lead.  
by (340 points)
I agree with you though. Google leads are higher quality [in most cases] than facebook leads - depending on the service being marketed of course.  
by (2.4k points)
@wisteria Chat bots are perfect for this
by (340 points)
I use chatbots but conditional logic works better.  
+11 votes
by (4k points)
That’s normal
+23 votes
by (860 points)
If - as you've said - you can't track conversions, then you can't make an intelligent decision about this. In which case, all advice you'll get is worthless.  
+5 votes
by (930 points)
Buyer intent is worth a 100x
+13 votes
by (1k points)
I haven’t seen anyone mention media mix. but having a healthy (round) media mix is important, at least when your company is somewhat mature. In early stages I wouldn’t worry much about it but eventually you’ll want to balance your mix and not buy media purely based on measurable ROI. As an example, some would say Direct Response TV ads are a waste, but I can almost guarantee you that it affects your FB ROAS in a measurable way of you test it right.  
+10 votes
by (1.2k points)
Don't forget to constantly monitor search terms and negative keywords you don't want driving up your costs. For example I like to exclude people in research phases by negative keywording "how" "what" "why" etc.  
by (1.2k points)
And if I'm not running a specific competitor campaign I will also negative out competitor's brand names.  
+1 vote
by (2.1k points)
Cheaper is not always better. what if more people convert on google
+30 votes
by (1.2k points)
You should use both. Build an omnichannel marketing strategy.  
+23 votes
by (2.1k points)
Google brings searchers. FB brings impulse / tire-kickers.  
+13 votes
by (2k points)
I do 50% google search, 10% gmail, 10% Retargeting, 30% Facebook. Google is most expensive, but it converts better. I see it as all of them work in different ways. For me it's not only about cpc.  
+29 votes
by (1.7k points)
Don't worry about CPC. Worry about something important like CPA or ROAS and then look again.  
+35 votes
by (390 points)
We find CPC far higher on google, but conversion rates are also far far higher from them - as particularly with search, there's very very high intent.  
by (1.1k points)
@logger Ive never tried Google ads but this was my first thought after reading this thread. Good insights!  
+16 votes
by (380 points)
You have tracking right? Look at ROAS and make an educated decision
+41 votes
by (890 points)
I have also found it. But the conversion rate is much bigger on Google. I make my own facebook ads but google ads I don;t dare to touch by myself
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