+4 votes
by (270 points)
Hi all.  in the new app, click the 3 lines for drop down menu, for locations i have 2 "homes".Hi all. in the new app, click the 3 lines for drop down menu, for locations i have 2 "homes". how can i combine them into 1 group?  
Hi all.  in the new app, click the 3 lines for drop down menu, for locations i have 2 "homes&qu

3 Answers

0 votes
by (5.8k points)
It's a bug in the new app (shocking I know) where it creates a duplicate home with nothing in it. You'll just need to delete that duplicate location.  
by (270 points)
@parcenary894 Mine has my thermostat and a few other items in it. I tried to delete a while back and re add them but it creates it twice
0 votes
by (610 points)
Just went through that. Signed out of the classic app, signed into the new app and my location was empty but there was a new "Home 1". Signed back into the classic and it was empty too except for the new home 1.  
by (10.2k points)
No need to sign out of Classic app. They will both work.  
0 votes
by (610 points)
Contacted Smartthings and they sent me this in addition to a "Sorry":
by (270 points)
@ladonnalady89581 I cant read that. Can you re send it please
by (610 points)
Sorry for the poor quality above. Here are the instructions on how to delete the location in the new app. In the SmartThings New app: 1) To view the Hub's Location, select Menu (Menu icon) and touch the drop-down arrow to select the Location name. 2) Select More Options (More Options icon) and touch Manage (Location name) 3) Touch Remove this location 4) Touch Delete to confirm (IMPORTANT: deleting a Location cannot be undone) Here are the steps to rename the location. 1) On the dashboard, go to the left menu and select the desired location. 2) Now, tap on the 3 dots symbol on the right side of the screen. (It is positioned beside " + " symbol) 3) A drop down will pop-up, tap on manage location. 4) Here you can rename the location.  
by (270 points)
@ladonnalady89581 but does that move the items to the other home option ?  
by (610 points)
@mohican No, rather than trying to move my devices I felt it better to just delete the location with my location name, delete it and rename "Home1" with my original location name. I'm not sure if my devices were moved to the new account or the account name changed.  
The SmartThings Group is where you can always find questions, answers, advice, reviews & recommendations from other community members about home automation with the Samsung SmartThings hub.
...